Friday, November 6, 2009

HH Tourney

Players will start with T5000 chips. Blinds will be 20 mins long.
Payout is set for 1st=$250, 2nd=$150, 3rd=$100

25-50
50-100
75-150
100-200
200-400
300-600
400-800
500-1000
1000-2000
1500-3000
2000-4000
2500-5000
3000-6000
4000-8000
5000-10000
10000-20000

Good luck to all!!

HH Tourney Blind Structure

Players will start with T5000 chips. Blinds will be 20 mins long. Payout is set for 1st=$250, 2nd=$150, 3rd=$100

25-50
50-100           
75-150
100-200        
200-400
300-600
400-800
500-1000
1000-2000
1500-3000
2000-4000
2500-5000
3000-6000
4000-8000
5000-10000
10000-20000

Good luck to all!!

Friday, October 16, 2009

Christian Poker

I wanted to write something that weighs heavy on me from time to time.
Being a Christian and playing poker. I wanted to explain my thoughts
on the subject. To my knowledge it doesn't really say anything
directly about gambling. But there are several warnings in the
scriptures. Most of the problems Christians have with gambling is
because it involves uncertain money.

For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people,
eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves
with many griefs. 1 Timothy 6:10.

Every leisure activity is not a sin, but all sin is not clearly listed
in the Bible. Added to that, God doesn't just want us not to sin, but
he gives us an even higher goal. The Bible encourages us to consider
our activities in this way:

"Everything is permissible for me"—but not everything is beneficial.
"Everything is permissible for me"—but I will not be mastered by
anything. 1 Corinthians 6:12

This verse appears again in 1 Corinthians 10:23, with the addition of
this idea: "Everything is permissible"—but not everything is
constructive." When an activity is not distinctly described as sin in
the Bible, we can ask ourselves these questions: "Is this activity
beneficial for me or will it become my master?? Will participation in
this activity be constructive or destructive to my Christian life and
witness??

The Bible does not explicitly say, "Thou shalt not play poker." Yet by
gaining a thorough knowledge of the Scriptures we have a trustworthy
guide for determining what pleases and displeases God.

Pleasing God isn't hard. He wants us to love him, and love others.
Playing poker can actually involve both of these. Loving God has
nothing to do with poker, tieing my shoes, eating an orange, or any
activity. So love God with your whole being. Loving others is often
hard at the table when they make a call for a one outer to come on the
river and it hits. I can honestly say many poker players are gonna be
disliked. But can you love people as Christ loved us and still give
them a hard time about their play?? I think the answer is yes, as long
as your not condemning his character. I also think God encourages
loving people through friendships. I have met and played poker with
thousands of people, and when that many people are put in your path
for a game I believe it's for a reason. God has blessed my life with
problems, and those hardships help others learn how I can glorify God
in hard times. I thank God for being able to minister through a game
and I hope I can continue. Remember being an influence to someones
eternal life can be as easy as being the small blind and talking about
your life to the big blind.

Keeping It Skinny,
FlacoJake

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Luck in Poker

Throughout my poker career, brief as it may be, I often hear statements about the luck versus skill factor involved in poker. I also hear people's thoughts on bankroll management, and many other things, many of which I find erroneous and are backed by little statistical evidence. Many involve extremely small samples sizes, for example: "Man, I got 2 out-ed 3 times last night. Poker is all luck." "Why do I need $5000 set aside to play $1/$2? The maximum amount I can lose in a single session is only $500 tops. You're bankroll management concepts are absurd." I would like to present some statistics about the extreme ups and downs of the game. The data I use in my analysis is the hands that I played online on Full Tilt Poker during the month of September, at $.02/$.05, and October, at $.05/$.10. On the following graphs, the dark green line represents my actual winnings for that particular month. The light green represents my "All-In Expected Value". What is All-In Expected Value (or AI EV)? All-In EV is an imperfect measure of the luck factor that one experiences while playing poker. If you go all in before the flop with AK before the flop against 22, you will win about 48% of the time, and lose 52% of the time. Since you are almost even money, your All-In EV line will remain flat. If you win the hand, your winnings line will increase relative to your All-In EV line, and in that case be running better than your expectation. All-In expectation is only an imperfect measure because the times that you go all in on the flop in a blind versus blind war with T8 on a board of J,T,8 versus JT, your all in expectation is extremely negative, although this was obviously an extremely unlucky situation for you. Also, the times that you call an all in on the river with AA on a board of A, 2, 3, J, J versus your opponents JJ, your All In expectation line will sharply decrease despite JJ having 1 outed you on the river. In short, All In expectation only considers your expectation on the street when you are actually all in. With that in mind, how much can someone's winnings differ from their all in expectation? X-Axis = Dollars Won. Y-Axis = Hands Played. September: < September Winnings Image> October: By the end of the month of September, I had actually won $40.39 at $.02/$.05. But my All In Expectation was only $17.80! Essentially, luck accounted for over 400 big blinds, or 4 buy ins of 100 big blinds, of my winnings for the month of September. At hand 4,762 for the month of October, my All-In EV was -$2.01, but my actual winnings were -$62.27! And these swings are over a relatively small sample size of only 26,000 hands! (statistically significant samples are typically 50,000 - 100,000 or more hands) Greg Raymer, WSOP Main Event winner, once said that a single session of poker was 100% luck, and that a solid year of poker was 100% skill. I'm inclined to say he was right. Don't concern yourselves with the results of an individual hand, or even an individual session. Play solid poker, and over the long run your play will be rewarded. -Eric "Abacus" Detweiler







Monday, September 21, 2009

Hail To The Pros

I was watching poker after dark the top guns cash game. I was tottally impressed with a hand that involved Eli Elezra, Phil Ivey, Patrick Antonius, and Ilari Sahamias. Cue the video to 5mins 10secs and watch the awesomeness. I would like to say I make these correct moves, but I don't. Read the rest of this blog after watching the video.
 
Its amazing to me the knowledge and good decision making these players have. I ask you all this question. When you watch poker shows can you learn anything to use in your game?? In this hand you see Eli lay down a open ended straight draw, Patrick lay down a pair, and Phil say "how did I get involved in this hand in the first place". This hand also shows you the justice of poker. The best hand won the pot and was played well. It also showed how to lay a hand down. Im keeping this episode on the DVR for awhile. Oh, BTW I am not a Tom Dwan fan but I really enjoy his hand analysis. He is very informative and would be a good teacher if he ever loses his bankroll.
 
Keeping it Skinny,
FlacoJake

Thursday, May 21, 2009

Respect The Donk, No Matter What Color Chips He Has

There is a point to this title, you just have to look deeply. Over my years of playing poker I have played a lot of differant stakes. I've played .10/.20, all the way up to $5/$10 cash games. I've played in $500 buyin tourneys down to $5 buyin tourneys. When playing these differant levels of investment I've tried to play good cards and not let the money affect my play. However, I find myself laying down the nut low to a $250 bet thinking I'm getting three quartered. (bad play), or calling every bet at a .25/.50 cash game because it's only 50 cents. This shouldn't be the case in either level. I should respect the game of poker, and not the money. If I'm playing .25/.50 or $5/$10 I should play the style of game I have consistently won with. I have to give Chris Ferguson props he can start out with $1 in an account and play his same style and turn that $1 into $10k in one year. How?? Well he respects his skill and doesn't let the money affect his play.
Small or big stakes the game itself doesn't change. Here comes the explanation of the title. I have found that it is very common for a losing player to blame his or her loss on the stakes they were playing. For example, I play in a .25/.50 cash game from time to time. I have lost a total of $300 at that game this year and I've only played there 4 times. Everytime I left the game I always thought "I just can't play those low stakes." I realized just recently that I'm not respecting the game or my skills. I can consistently win if I'm playing consistent to my playing style and knowledge. I also have decided to not let another player needle me about the stakes I play. If I play .25/.50 cash games and have a profit everytime I play then I'm happy with my play. I do not want to become a stake snob. I need to respect the game itself and look at it as the task at hand. The task is to have more money then I started with. I know a lot of you look at playing
cards as just recreation and you play just to have fun. Well, I do too! I have fun when I win. It's not much fun if I lose everytime I play. If im losing all the time it's probably not because I have white $1 chips in front of me instead of black $100 chips. It's probably because I suck!! And if your playing against players who suck at cards, then get ready for the suckouts. Keep playing your winning style no matter who the players or how big the big blind is. Respect the donks that's where your money will come from.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Monday, May 18, 2009

I Got A Sick Table!!

I want to start this post off by thanking everyone who had a hand in surprising me with a beautiful poker table. Its the table I have designed in my head and the right people payed attention to the right things I said I wanted. I want to give a special thank you to my table guy Bryan, my dad, and my super hot wife. Without Bryan's great creativity on tables the PP House would not exist and neither would my table. Thanks to my dad and wife for pulling the trigger for me. They knew I would never spend the money on a poker table for myself, so they spent it for me. And of course everybody who through some money in the pot to help a fellow player out. This gesture really shows that our players know the value of friendship. I can't wait to play on my table. Thanks a ton!!

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Thursday, April 23, 2009

Where Is Everybody??

I have been wondering where everybody went?? Our regular Friday game has shrunk a bit. Many of the regulars have been absent several weeks and I'm getting a little sad. I know some of you have made your wives/girlfriends, work, saving money, etc a priority. But it's getting pretty crazy. I've missed River Moseley, Abacus, Andrew, Frank the Jew, Wayne and many others. I hope everyone is doing ok and is back to the house soon. I hope this next game has somemore familiar faces.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Monday, April 13, 2009

Thought's from a new Dad!

Monday afternoon was one of the best days of my life to date. As you all know by now, Trudy and I are going to have our first baby. It is a strange feeling knowing that is nine short months we will have a little bit of Trudy and myself rolled up in to a tiny little person. It has already started putting my life in prospective, the way I think of the future, and the way I look at Trudy, the way she looks at me. I find my self-thinking of the fun stuff.

     Teaching a little part of us the ways of life, and things my father taught me, to have pride in everything you put your hands on because it will have your name on it. Teaching this little person how to play poker and the different kinds of hunting and how to calling in that spring Turkey that's so far away in a distant pasture into range, and I find myself asking myself " Am I ready for this".

    I see Trudy and how she smiles when we talk about the nursery and how we want it to look, the long nights and the worry we will have when this little person start walking and pulling on Allie floppy ears. It's always the same answer, " however hard, we will find the way".

I can't wait for the future to get here, Trudy will be a great Mom, and with her help I will be a great Dad. Time will tell us all what we need to know. God has true blessed us with this great news, and with him walking with us I know that things are going to be fine.

 
Terry
 

Monday, April 6, 2009

News Of The Week

I just got some great news. Our resident poker babe Trudy is going to have a babe. Terry just phoned to tell me that he's gonna be a daddy. They are both super excited. I'm very happy for them. I'm glad you could go all in when it counted!!

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Monday, March 30, 2009

Player Of The Week

This week I have chosen my good buddy Scott. Scott is a regular at the
PP House. He has become a staple like many others. Scott is gambler,
he's not afraid to put all his chips in the middle. He's always ready
to bluff, but also ready to call a bluff. Like all of us Scott has had
his good and bad runs but one thing is a constant with Scott he always
has a good time. He is always making everyone laugh at the table. His
poker skills have really developed over the last year. I have seen him
turn his game around from wreckless endangerment to just endangerment.
I mean that in the best sense!! Scott met our game through my brother
J. Scott and J go to church with one another and also play in a band
together. Scott is a happily married man to his wife Candice and has a
daughter Mackenzie. He's a proud dad, he talks about his sassy little
girl frequently. He also loves his wife dearly, except when she's
sending him text photos of ugly man crocs shoes she wants to buy him.
Glad you said no to those buddy. Scott has become a very important
part of our poker family. He has also become a dear friend to me and
my family. I'll see you at the table Scott, I'll try and make good
reads when we mix it up.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

What Did You Say??

I'm having a hard time picking this weeks player of the week. I had several suggestions of who it should be. I also had a couple of people in mind. However, I still have no idea who to pick.
I try and pick someone who shows a certain amount of poker skill but also a good amount of character. I'm sure that most everyone that is a regular at the PP House knows everybody is basicly a good person. We all needle each other and smack talk back and forth. This is all done without bringing someones character or behavior into the game. I was not really impressed with anyones poker this week. The reason why I wasn't impressed is because there was some needling and comments being made that went beyond the line of poker smack. I'm not mad by any means and nothing that was said was picked up by anyone but me. So no need to elaborate on who, what when or where.
I really think that poker is a game of life. Everything in the game of poker is in the game of life. One certain part of life and poker is choosing ones words very carefully. I'll be honest with you there was only one player that made any comments that directly influenced my decision to post this online. I don't really care about people getting needled, its part of the game. I don't even care if it seems like one players is getting picked on more then the others. Most comments are directly influenced by someones play not their character. Like Dave calling any preflop bet with ace rag, or Scott and Mark blind betting, or dad hitting the flop with deuce 4 and saying he had pot odds. These are plays that ask for needling from other players. Most players except this and dont take it personal. When you take needling personally and then you retaliate with what you think is a great come back turns out to be a jerk comment then your in the wrong. This is what happened Friday. Let me be very clear.. I love the needling, I love the smack talk, and I don't want anyone to change this part of our game. What I would suggest though is make sure your smack talk is only valid at the table. If you give someone a hard time about behavior or actions outside of the game then keep an eye on your feet. I wouldn't want you to put your foot in your mouth. I'll be posting player of the week probably manana.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Monday, March 16, 2009

Player Of The Week

This weeks player of the week is Tom Borgerding. Tom is a one of the CSOP founders. He's played in almost every single CSOP event. He has been instrumental in several of the changes to help improve the CSOP. He has also been instrumental in the decision in giving each player more chips to start out with. This is because Tom needed more bluffing room in the beginning of the tournament. What can I say about Tom's poker play?? Well, Tom's play is like watching a good movie, you have no problem paying to be entertained. I have seen Tom play bald headed with a fake tattoo pasted to his forehead. I have seen him bust out the first hand and I have seen him beat everybody to take 1st place. Tom is not a middle ground type he usually busts out early or makes it to the end. His play is super aggressive and you never know when to believe him. He has come along way since I first played the game at my first CSOP. I can honestly say that he is very entertaining to
watch. Every week I try to pick a player with a certain flare to their play but mostly players who show good character. Tom is a great dad and a happily married man of several years. He gives his family priority and keeps their needs met. He is a jack of all trades. He owns a few businesses that he keeps running all by himself. He is also a God fearing man who has been a spiritual leader to many people. He understands and appreciates Gods mercy. He has been through many physical battles with heart troubles, but presses on knowing God is in control. We should all take heed a bit to the way Tom looks at poker and life, sometimes it's not how well you play but how much fun did you have playing?? Congratulations Tom on being player of the week, I think you got your groove back.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Monday, March 9, 2009

Player Of The Week

I'm going to throw a wrench into the spokes a bit. This weeks player of the week is Terry Morgan. Yeah, I said Terry. I know he wasn't at the game on Friday. However, he was at the Monday game and was a huge winner after playing well and getting good cards. He was absent for the Friday game when out of town trips came first. Terry has become a regular fixture at the Pettigrew Poker House. His play has improved dramaticly over the last year. Terry is an eager student of the game and continues to show great growth. Making good reads, slow playing big hands, and laying down at the right times is very important when your a poker player. At the PP House we admire character more then skill. Terry is a young man with a growing character and attitude towards life and it's many roads. He has shown me great improvement in his maturity in the short time I've known him. He has also shown a great amount of love and respect in his relationship to Trudy. I respect a
man that always includes his companion in the things he enjoys. I am blessed to call him my friend.

Now that is all out of the way, I still want to say that Jake remains neutral in the Scott vs Terry CSOP prop bet.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

I Was Robbed!!

After further investigation, I have been notified through the Department Of Public Safety and by the Fort Worth police department. The speed limit on a residential street is 30mph. I write this for the record that I was screwed out of $20 by my own flesh and blood. I love my father dearly but man what a cheater!! Just kidding, he did win the bet. However, the prop master will soon have another wager ready to go and I'll be sure to not get screwed on the next one.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Sunday, March 1, 2009

Player Of The Week

Okay, last nights late night texting I apologize for. I will give you a recap of how things unfolded. Last night dad, J, me, and all of our families were coming back from Shreveport where we were visiting my other brother who lives there. Bored and trying not to fall asleep I ask dad "what is the over under on arrival time??" He says with his supreme driving skills we will arrive at 11:43. I said I bet the over. So the bet was set that if be arrived before 11:43 he won $5, if he arrived at 11:44 or later I won $10, if he arrived within the minute of 11:43 he gets $30. In the car the bet has been made and my nephew says "i gotta pee". We all start to bust out laughing. With that pit stop it added about 5 minutes to our trip. At around 11:00 dad starts to get a little nervous. With my supreme prop betting skills I decide to renegotiate with him. The new bet was if we arrived at 11:48 or under he got $10, if we arrived within the 11:48 minute he got $30 and
he also got my vote and J's vote for player of the week, if we arrived at 11:49 or later I got $15 and dad had to run around the car twice. J and I had our GPS systems working overtime, and the hamster in dads brain was running like a race horse while dad calculated speed, mileage, and time left. We also put a call into Abacus to see who was the favorite. Going off of GPS and all the calculations we knew it was going to be close. At 11:40 we were going under the bridge of Bryant Irvin on I-20. The rules were he could not exceed his speed anymore then 5 miles above the speed limit and he couldn't drop below the speed limit at any time. Exiting 377 he had 4 minutes. At the red light at Williams Rd he had 2 minutes. After the light turned green he had less then 2 minutes. I was getting nervous, I figured I was going to lose I just wasn't sure of how much I would lose. Turning onto Willowbend he had 30 seconds. Traveling down his street at 12 miles an hour
(what is the speed limit on a residential street??) he pulled into his driveway 10 seconds into the 11:48 minute. I lost $30 and dad had become victorious. He won money and because most people voted for themselves as player of the week he had the majority of votes with 4 votes. Props goes to dad for his driving and math skills. As far as his poker playing I guess he did aight. Stupid prop bet, who was dumb enough to bet on that crap??!! I do wish to know what the speed limit is on his street. If it's higher the 12 miles an hour then arbitration may be in order. :)

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Thursday, February 26, 2009

Player Of The Week

I had a hard time picking this weeks player. I decided to highlight a player that hasn't been to the game in a while. The reason I decided to make him player of the week is because he won one of the biggest pots he could ever win on February 14th. Blake Riggs raked in a good looking baby boy named Tommy Blake. Blake has played many times with us and has had his share of good and bad days at the Pettigrew Poker Casa. I'm sure his poker sessions will be a little limited for awhile. We all know babies take time and money. These two things are imperitive to a poker player, so it was great to play with you Blake. Just kidding buddy. Congrats are in order and hope to see you at the table again soon.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Thursday, February 19, 2009

Player Of The Week

I have decided to try and post a player of the week column. We will see if I can keep it going. My first player to be singled out is my good friend, Mike Neil. Mike is a great friend I met through the CSOP. I have seen his game grow by leaps and bounds over the course of about 3 years. He has really grasped the game in both cash games and tournement play. He runs a great poker game as well with the CSOP going into it's 2nd season. More importantly then anything else he's a very good person. His character is pure and simple. He is a godly man who understands he's nothing without Christ in his life. He is a great father and a devoted husband. Unlike a lot of players Mike keeps poker in it's correct spot on the priority list. I can honestly say that Mike is a true friend, even though he jipped me out of the point lead in last years CSOP. I love playing the game with you Mike. Make sure you keep the game up, because at your age it's going to start getting
tough keeping other things up. I love ya man.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Monday, February 16, 2009

Gracias!!

I just wanted to thank everbody who came out to my birthday game. It turned out to be a great game and a good time. I was able to spend time with some old friends and get to know new ones. We had several great moments that I will remember forever. I really appreciated the awesome card covers that were custom made for me. I wanted to thank my pop for throwing the shindig. I also wanted to thank you for not punching anyone or anything. Congratulations are in order for being up a $1, you proved the fact that every dog plays with his bone, ooops I mean finds a bone sometimes. All joking aside sir, you are my best friend and I want to thank you for being there for your boys. Everyday I'm thankful for another breath, I am truly blessed to have friends and family like all of you. Thanks again for everything.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Saturday, February 7, 2009

From the dealers seat.

Jake stole my topic in his blog at 4:30 a.m., so I this should be quick. I've been gone for a few weeks, and this was my first week back. Gotta say I missed the game, especially from my usual seat behind the deck. Good turnout, new faces, old faces we haven't seen, but a few people that weren't there, that were missed. No Scott, Mosely, or Abacus and it was noticeable. Last night was marked by some gutsy moves, some ridiculous betting, and some stunning folds (that none of you ever saw). Most notably, Matt laying down pocket queens with only a few dollars in the pre-flop raise. I know he was playing tight and low on chips, but that pot would have been a no-contest all in from me. *doing my Abacus impersonation* - Ahhh, but I digress...

From my vantage point, I got to evaluate the good and the bad, and here's my opinion and that's all it is. I'm not a pro, and I'm definitely not the best player at the table (EVER), but I watch alot of poker, mostly at our game. There isn't a single player at our game that I don't think belongs there. Every one has their place. I don't agree with the way some players play, but that doesn't make it wrong. Maybe all the poker books say that when someone takes a certain action, you should raise, fold, or fall on the ground kicking and screaming, but that doesn't mean everyone should play by the book. Everyone has their style, so play the player, not the cards. We've got players who are willing to take a risk to chase cards to the river. Players that will play any two cards, and raise with them. Players that will throw $20 at a pot without even looking at their cards. And yes, players that will fold pocket queens to a $4 raise.

I don't see anything wrong with any of that stuff. It's just their style of play - right or wrong. They shouldn't have to change their game, or learn to play "the right way". They might win alot of money that night, or lose $200 in 30 minutes. Overall the smart player will always come out on top. So just relax, keep coming to the game, and only bring with you what you are willing to lose. If your not having fun, you're missing the point.

Until next time, I'll be here shuffling...

~J~

Blind Betting At 2:15AM.

I'm writing this at 4:30 in the morning while it's fresh in my mind. Tonight was a good game. It usually is when I'm up. I wanted to discuss the plays that brought our game to a close. My good buddy Mark was having some fun and betting $15-$20 in the dark pre-flop. This worked out for him and made him even. This type of play is not embraced by many as poker playing. I am one of those people who thinks this is way is not poker. In Marks defense this play was a desperate move to either get busted or get even. I myself become looser when I'm stuck. This brings me to the point of this post. I wanted to tell people that calling a big pre-flop bet when someone is In the dark is easy. I play the same hands I would play if the bet was $4. Anybody that gets aggravated with a big bet should probably be out of the pot anyway. I'm not going to say that after awhile blind bets get frustrating. I'm just saying there are several players that gamble just as reckless. I
have seen people call a $4 raise with crap. This is no differant then someone betting in the blind. Your still betting on getting lucky rather then playing well. Another thing to understand is if your up and the game is almost over don't call the big blind bets!! Don't get greedy. I gave away $3.50 in blinds when those big bets were coming out. I laid down a few big hands because I'm not getting mixed up in hands that could bust me if I'm only loosing $1. Last point and I'm done. When someone gets beat in a hand and you are rooting for them to loose, keep your joy of them losing to yourself. If your ever in a place where your gunning for someone to go broke, don't be surprised if you end up busted before they are. Vendettas don't work I promise.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Tuesday, February 3, 2009

Before I play again

With all the trash talking and comments made last week, on top of my complete bad luck and PLAY! I feel that I was short with some people… I have come to the relation that some thing's can't be helped…. I am going to try and keep that in mind every time I play from now on, because for some reason I have started becoming a " Brat" player. 

It's weird but I feel that I have become a much better player because of the players around me.

However, I must start understanding that some people make bets, call bets, and raise, strictly on a feeling in they're stomach.

"I HATE THAT"!!

But that is what makes this game great..

So next time that Dave L., Donks me at the river!, or Scott, Calls my Pre-flop Raise with His Non-Connecting Clubs and later calls my all-in with a draw. I am simple going to say "good hand" and try and move on..

This game is full of ups and downs, and I must stop and think about things before I say them and do them…

Cant Wait to see which way this roller coaster goes this Friday and Saturday…

See you all there.

T. Morgan

C.S.O.P. Champ 2008

 

Brake Or Break??

You know out of all the topics on this site so far have been some real good smack talking and comical. I love every bit of it. I'm gonna break that streak and get back to poker. I was talking to another player about a bad run of cards he's been having. This player plays more poker in one week then some play in a month. Albeit his bankroll is a lot higher then most of ours and his schedule allows for such a lifestyle, he's still losing. This brings me to where my little tid bit of advice comes in. When the cards seem to be running bad for a session or two it's no biggy. This is just part of playing poker. When you lose several sessions in a row, it's time to apply the brakes a bit. When your losing every session you play and have invested almost your entire bankroll it's time to apply the parking brake and get out of the car before you crash. This brings me back to bankroll management. Many of our players do not have seperate money to play poker on. Most
players just run by the ATM get enough to play in for that night and play. This way is STUPID!! You should always no exactly how much you have in every game. You should always have an emergency amount. This is where you have depleated your bankroll to a place where playing your regular game would put your whole bankroll at stake. Example my emergency amount is $300. If my bankroll gets to this amount I am very choosy on the games I play and if I play at all. A few players were surprised to find out I kept tabs on most players winnings and losses for 2008. Some players had no idea about losses they had accrued. This is because they did not keep track of what the vested in there play. This is dangerous. If all seems to be going crappy it's time to take a break. A timeout if you will. Time to rest your mind, stop second guessing the past, recover some bankroll through other means, and refocus. There is two key things to dwell on when on a break. #1 you
need to evaluate your past play. If you have been losing a lot then it's probably not just how the cards flop. Serial losses is a huge signal that it's time to evaluate ones personal strategy to the game. Putting it bluntly if your losing everytime then your style might just suck! As Chris Ferguson says if you can't spot the sucker at the table it's probably you. #2 take some time to refocus on the fun of poker. I am guilty of getting wrapped up in the check raises, the value bets, slow playing, pot odds, implied odds, splash pots, on suit or off suit, etc. Just like everybody else I sometimes need to just sit back and realize I love this game because it's fun. I realize that I'm not a pro player or as wise as my father, but I've been bruised and battered and learned how to recover. This advice only comes from personal expireiences. I have had to take 2 breaks in my time of playing and each time my evaluations have made me a better player. Also know
this you will need a break at some time. When that time comes are you good enough to take that break??

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake
Jakedp1980@yahoo.com

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Thursday, January 29, 2009

Setting the story straight

First off I am the best there is ! And second I made the bet for 50 dollars. Not Terry. He was so scared to shake on it that his palms were so sweaty and his hand was shaking before I could grab it. So that's were that stands.

Now for the badger alert. The rumors are true my nickname was the badger, that was because everytime I would get sucked out on I would litterally foam at the mouth I be so pissed !! But those days are long gone. I have harnessed my chi and am able to hold in my rage from stupid play. But get there's always a one in every bunch and in ours well there's more than one. Lol. !!

so please comment on who you think will place higher if not win the C. S. O. P. 2009.
Between Terry and I .

Thanks
Scott c s o p 2009

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

"A SIDE BET, AND A RABIES WARNING TO ALL"

With the amount of shit talked by Scott last Friday I was ready with shovel in hand when I arrived at the house. After listening to Scott tell everyone that basically, he was the BEST poker player EVER. I decided to throw a bet on the table, seeing that I'm the defending C.S.O.P. champ I bet Scott $50.00 that I would have more points than him at the end of the year. Not that I think that I am better than him or he is better than me. Its just something to help both of us with our game, I truly hope that he does well, I just hope that I have 1 more point than him when it is all said and done..
 
JUST A WARNING TO ALL....
Several months ago I was told  by a friend of Scotts that they call him Badger. When I asked why? I was told that he acts like one when he gets bet.... So if you plan on playing Friday night or at the Monthly Tourney, get your Rabies Shot just incase you play against the BEST and BET HIM".....
 
Can't wait to get back to the Tables, see all of you there.....
 
2008 C.S.O.P. Champ
T. Morgan
 

Saturday, January 24, 2009

$1,000 Owed For Bad Language

Last night turned out to be the biggest game of the year so far. We had 14 people all together. I guess when you announce your getting planet smoothie food they come in droves. The parties were going on in all parts of the house. We had the 12 handed hard to breathe cause it was so crowded, and the hot fudge sundae fest in the kitchen. By the way I appreciate everyone keeping the cussing down to a minimum. After putting a .50 cent penalty on each cuss word I think it was worse. LOL I think there is a couple of guys who should include their cuss penalties in there money losses. Abacus that means you were actually down for the night. I think the funniest event of the night was the 4 Mexican sweat hands to end the night. Josh ended up winning 3 out of 4 hands. He was into the poker game for $200 and ended up only being down $80 thanks to his magnificent skill at the game of no skill. The game turned out great wish dad could have been there. I'll see you
guys next week.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Return of the ATM

Ok so I have been beat down for the last 3 weeks or so, I had a good run going until I came back from Vegas and some how became the biggest DONK at the table. So the gloves are off, I will win this Friday, and when I win its not little its usually 200+ , So Dave I hope you bring ALL my money back cause its coming home baby, no more donk moves for me, So will you see the more aggressive badger, or just a laid back sly ninja leaving you saying where the heck did all my money go .. CHA CHING !!
 
So this is a call out to all that play with us bring cash and lots of it cause it's going in my little pink piggy bank baby, here are some examples how this Friday is going to go down.
 
Terry raises big pre-flop I reraise with 9-4 clubs., Somebody raises to that queer $3.50 and I have paint you get raised,  Dave calls $ 25.00 reraise I FOLD !!!  (respect).. LOL, and the piece de resistaunce.. Eric no matter what you play you bet pre-flop bet the flop , and you check the turn I am going to reraise you with absolutely nothing !!
 
Love you guys but the gauntlet has been thrown down I will leave with cash this Friday you guys just need to decide who's its going to be ?!!!
 
Later Taters
 
Scott S.  C.S.O.P. 2009 winner fo shizzle

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

From the Dealer's Seat

Well, as you all know I've missed three weeks in a row and will miss this week as well as I take my son to Corpus Christi to spend the night on the USS Lexington. I can't wait to get back in my seat and start throwing things at you guys again. I miss the game in a way that those who never deal may not understand. There's alot to be said about playing the game, but dealing has definitely changed my perspective. I should be back soon, but until then let me leave you with this video of a possible replacement, so that you won't complain when I come back.
 
~J~
 
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/WCxCXwL7g1c&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en&feature=player_embedded&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/WCxCXwL7g1c&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

~J~ Pettigrew
PBNJ Worship Ministries
www.myspace.com/pbnjworship



Saturday, January 17, 2009

Dave L. Requires Medical Attention.

I think Dave is going to need medical attention. He must have woke up with some sort of injury. The reason why is because Dave didn't just get hit with the deck he got smashed, hit, elbowed, smacked, kneed, and I think he even got felt up by the the deck. Dave was the big winner profiting over $200. Dave was destined to win last night. For a while there he couldn't lose a single pot. Ace kings got busted by jack4, straights got busted by runner runners, and raising pre flop became useless. I don't think I have ever seen such a run of cards in all my poker playing. However, I do think Dave was due for a big cash. There were many players last night that could not make anything connect. I was one of those donks. After the game I had a brief conversation with Dave, John, and Eric. We discussed our play for the evening and poker theory and strategy. Each of us were on the same page about most everything. But like you can expect there were comments made about strategy that I didn't agree with. This is why I love this game. Everyone has their own game they play. I have found a way to play that is profitable for me 80% of the time. My way may be the worst way for the next guy but it works for me. I am by no means the best poker player, but I offer this advice. If your style of play or your knowledge of the game is profitable 25% of the time then you probably need to reevaluate how to change your game. You want your win rate percentege to be as high as it possibly can be. The best feeling for a player is to start the year with a bankroll of $300 and to never have to look back the entire year. I suggested to the 3 guys left last night to register with pokercharts.com this site will help determine if your style of play is a winning style. Congrats to Dave for a great cash last night. I hope whatever injury you might have obtained from the deck heals up quickly.  

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot..com


Wednesday, January 14, 2009

Wisdom of the Ancients

After reading the contributions submitted to J5onsuit I was compelled to make my own contribution. We are such and entertaining and enlighted group but I am not sure most of you could see things the way I do as I am older than most of our players, except Dave L.

I think the metamorphisis you go through as a player is so much like life and we have players at every level of the evolutionary chain.

We have ameba's who are in the infancy stages of forming their game, have no direction, and are just trying to keep from getting their bankroll squashed into microscopic particles.

We have the toddlers who are so thrilled that they actually have a pair in their hand they continue to bet with childlike faith that they will catch their 2 outer to beat all the over cards on the board.

We have pre-teens who can't wait to grow up and finally have the courage call that big bet from the older guys, while drawing to their straight, flush, second pair, or gut shot.

We have the hot shot older teenagers who are full of piss and vineagar and can bench 250, throw a bet at every pot, reraise every bet, and just dare all the puny freshman to even speak to them. Their very stare says, "Get out of my pot."

We have the intellectual college boys who have gained so much knowledge from their educational endeavors that folding, calling, or raising is an equation that has a simple and finite answer.

We have the dedicated family man who is so thilled that his wife actually gave him permission to do something without her that he will bet - without looking at his cards, after seeing his crappy cards, or probably with no cards - and just dare you to try and take his money.

We have the sibling rivalries of the little stack versus the big stack. The little stack knows there is going to be one opportunity when the big stack is not looking or paying attention and he will get to throw that sucker punch that leaves the big stack bewildered and wondering what just happened.

We have the player who has matured, knows where to pick his spots, who he can bluff out of a pot, and who he can reraise to win a pot. Unfortunately he usually makes just the right move at just the wrong time and gets the right call with the wrong board from one of the aforementioned players to loose the biggest pot of the night. Lamenting his loss with the often proved poker principal, "You just can't rehab stupid."

And finally we have the wise old sage. He has been through many endeavors in life and has learned from most of them. He is wise enough to know that he doesn't know everything but puts a lot of effort into trying to make you think he knows just about everything. He trys to educate the young folks on all facets of life and let them learn from his years of experience. He is just young enough that he thinks he can still be cool but just old enough that the only thing about him that is cool is the temperature of his refrigerator. But this wise man has learned from his the many hands he has played. There will be bad beats, there will be suckouts, and if enough pressure from skin and bone is applied to an immovable object there will be pain. But we all know that great piece of wisdom from one of the great philosophers of our time, "Like Mama says. It be's dat way sometimes."

The most interesting fact about life and poker is that at any session or on any day I can dispaly any one or all of the stages of maturity.

GoodChuck

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

Poker Calculations From Abacus

The first time I played this game was August of last year, mere weeks after having returned from my year-long study abroad in Japan. In my earlier years, my family had often traveled to Vegas on vacation, with the children being delegated to the arcade of the MGM or the Gameworks on the strip. After one such vacation, I got my mother to promise me to take me back to Vegas after I turned 21 on my birthday, and having turned 21 while I was in Japan, August became the most practical compromise. I played all the traditional table games: Blackjack, Craps, Roulette...I even wasted $3 on a MegaMillions slot machine, and none of these games were as nearly as exciting as what was to come.

The night before we were to return, I realized that I had yet to play poker while I was there. I have a strong competitive spirit, and I was greatly intrigued by a game where one was playing against the other players, not the house. At around midnight, I meandered over to the Tropicana and sat down at a 1/2 table with the $200 I had won at craps. There were ups, downs, sets, rivered full houses, flush draws, people who tried to push me off hands when I had the nuts, me betting $20 on the river with a K-A-2-3-4 straight and bluffing my opponents off the hand(although I thought I was good!), and I had no idea what I was doing. I finished at 6:00AM with me stuck $200, but of all the time I spent in Vegas I had the most fun and adrenaline-pumping, heart-pounding moments at the poker table, and I fell in love with the game.

Since returning to Fort Worth I've played poker every chance I could, not the least insane and educational of which being Friday nights at Pettigrew Poker. Every time Scott calls my 4x big blind raise with Q-3 offsuit and flops 2 pair, or Jake reads me and folds to my value bet on the river, or Chuck bets me off a hand with 6 high, I realize I have so much more to learn about this game, and so many things I can improve upon. But every dog has his day, and the one time I got Jake to call $15 on the turn with the nuts is plenty incentive to keep on rollin'. I'll catch up someday!

You got to know when to hold 'em, know when to fold 'em!
-Eric

Monday, January 12, 2009

C.S.O.P from Mike N.

I want to thank all the players in the C.S.O.P. for making it a great success. What started out in 2007 as a way for about 10 friends and family members to start learning and playing Texas Hold'em and has grown into more than I would have ever imagined. By the end of 2007 we even had a championship game that a friend, Clay had won. During the 2008 season our little game had grown to many more players with higher goals set for a new points system & a better championship game. Along the way I have been fortunate to meet some really good people. We are lucky to have such a good group of people and that everyone gets along. We are ruthless to one another, but it is all for fun, nothing is to be taken seriously. This is a friendly game amongst friends. Along the way through the 2008 season, I tweaked a few things for the championship game. I found myself in a hard place because, well, because I screwed up. I had about a month to figure my mess out, which  I called for everyone's input. Misery loves company. I took and crammed them into one, well sort of. But it worked, for the most part. Once we figured out the last little hitches, the championship was on. The 2008 championship game was a hit. It had everything you could ever ask for. It had a little bit of drama, tension, a little talking smack, a whole lot of laughing, and a big finish. The winner was T. Morgan, not any kin to the "Captain". He was one of 2 players lucky to be in the championship by a default. At one time he was on the ropes, dazed and confused. Wait, that's how he is anyway. Just kidding. But some how he fought back form the least amount of chips and won the championship. The championship payed all 10 players at the table and besides the most money going to the winner, he also got a championship bracelet. My hat is off to you, my friend Mr Morgan. Thanks for a great season lots of memories.
 

Mike N.

The Life Of An ATM



These guys ae the worse card players I have ever seen, you have the suck outs , the math brains that take FOREVER just to fold and then ask what you have , you have the old man that ask's how in the world did that happen?, and then there is Chuck the WHALE.. LOL
 
JUST KIDDING !!!
 
   Well lets start with I have fun at this game first off I could win $ 300 or drop 500 it does not matter, I love playing this game and love playing these (suckers) I mean these people,they all have there own little tweak to the game and its funny to see it every week. One for sure is Dave always bets the ACES .. and Kings,well OK paint in general..LOL Terry can always  be sucked out on especially on a club flush draw..LOL  All kidding aside this is probably the best ran and even played game I have ever been apart of , I have played games where your sweating to see if your going to get raided or robbed, games you have had to fight someone afterwards because you busted there girlfriend with 7, 2 off suit . I enjoy everyone that plays with us and will always be there as long as its going on.
 
Thanks
 
Scott S.  WSOP 2012  it could happen ?

From The Dealer's Seat

From the Dealer's Seat: Musings from the only one not playing

Since I never get to play, I probably won't have any great bad beat stories, and no stories about how I got quad aces on the river, or sucked out on someone and made them hit a wall. However, I get to participate in EVERY game, from the best seat in the house. I see all the rabbit cards that never came out, I see all the mucked cards that should have been played, I see the great bluffs that people got away with when they bet so well that no one could call. My entries will be about all the stuff that would have come out if only we played on TV!

So I'll shuffle up and deal the first entry:

I've been away from the game for two weeks due to my wife's ill health, so I've missed out an some fun. That said, I'll just start with one of my secret favorites. Of course, it has to do with Flaco Jake, and Good Chuck. It seems that any time that those two get into a hand there will be drama, trash talk, and eventually a bad beat, or suck out. Most of the time the cards are run twice, or some deal is made that they pull back, add, or modify the betting somehow. In this particular hand though, none of this happened. It was early in the game and if I remember right Jake was already up having one back to back hands (or close to it). I'm not one to remember what cards everyone has or what hit the flop, etc. In this case, it wouldn't matter. All I remember is that Jake lead out the betting with a pre-flop raise, and no one called but Chuck. I look over at Jake's hole cards and they're complete RAGS! Something like 8-3 offsuit. The flop comes out and, of
course, completely misses Jake. He's first to act, and he places a continuation bet. Chuck smooth calls with a pocket pair only slightly larger than the cards on the flop (I think he had 10-10). The flop is a high card and Jake bets again! Chuck doesn't buy it and raises. Jake says "You don't wanna do that Dad", and RE-RAISES! Chuck is visibly rattled and lays it down. Jake looks at me, smiles and mucks away the bluff! Very nice!

Until next time...

~J~

CSOP 2008 From Terry

With this being my first of many blogs on this new site, I would like to start with one of the highlights of my poker journey. It was this weekend at a tournament that I was luckily enough to play in. Long story short, this tournament was set up like the W.S.O.P., with a monthly tournament and a final table free role after 12 months for the top ten players. A prize pool of $1000.00 and a Bracelet to the winner made of the winnings. I was able to slide into a 11th place tie with 2 other people after playing in just seven of the twelve tournaments. After along drawn out process I found myself sitting at the Crowley Series of Poker Championship Table.


I started the game with $10,000 in chips; I lost about 2 grand my first hand and had to shift gears. The tournament went on to find myself in a very bad bet hand against my great friend Jake, I had K-K and bet pre-flop. "Enough too show strength." The flop was an ugly mess of cards, with nothing higher than a 9. I said those magic words, "All-in" with a Very quick "call" from Jake. I thought for sure I had him beat, but after he flipped his pocket 9's I had to start licking my wounds.

The tournament went on as I became card dead, the blinds went up and I was finding myself closer and closer to the rail…. The binds went up yet again to 1K-2K, and I was first to act, I looked at my hold cards to find 7-7. I pushed my remaining 3k All-in and had three or four callers, the flop hit me hard with a third seven for a set. I started changing my play and started getting in a grove that helped me move up the chip leader board, where I took over the chip lead.

After playing for about a half an hour heads up I made a deal with the other guy Tom B. We would just split 1st and 2nd place money between the two of us, and play for the bracelet. He agreed and the heads-up battle continued. In the small blind I found a 10-4 off suite, I raised three times the big blind, trying to show intent. The other guy re-raises me, so I was setting their thinking. Tom looks at Jake and said, "I have your hand". Unfortunately for him I know what that hand is, so I called All-in; thinking I could push him off the pot. I also know that it was going to be a race against two live cards and two live cards. He called with J-5. The flop came K,7,10, the Turn was another 10, and the River was the case 10. Giving me Quads!!! I about fell out of my chair, I could not believe that I pulled that out of the bag….

I have never fought my way back for the small stack to chip leader, and than win the tournament. Man, I love this game… There were handshakes all around and talk about the quads. A hug from another great friend and a few people saying other things and the game was over… I ended the night with $250.00, a bracelet that read C.S.O.P 2008 final table Champ, the memories, and the Title of C.S.O.P. Final Table Champion 2008.

T.Morgan


A Blog Is Born

I know no one reads my blog so I decided to start another. This blog is for all the people in my cell phone with poker next to their name. I hope in the near future to have weekly blogs written by many different players. I will of course moderate each writers blog before publishing but I will give plenty of writers privlege of freedom of speech. If you are interested in posting anything to the site please write your blog and email it to me (jakedp1980@yahoo.com) and I will read, approve, then post. I think this is going to be awesome if I can get some players to get creative and write. You can post about anything you desire. Only thing I ask is that you keep the bad beat stories to a 2,000 word maximum (DAD). I'm excited about sharing stories, strategies, and of course needling from player to player. Let's see who will be the first to get their blog posted.

Keeping It Skinny,
FlacoJake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com