Saturday, February 7, 2009

From the dealers seat.

Jake stole my topic in his blog at 4:30 a.m., so I this should be quick. I've been gone for a few weeks, and this was my first week back. Gotta say I missed the game, especially from my usual seat behind the deck. Good turnout, new faces, old faces we haven't seen, but a few people that weren't there, that were missed. No Scott, Mosely, or Abacus and it was noticeable. Last night was marked by some gutsy moves, some ridiculous betting, and some stunning folds (that none of you ever saw). Most notably, Matt laying down pocket queens with only a few dollars in the pre-flop raise. I know he was playing tight and low on chips, but that pot would have been a no-contest all in from me. *doing my Abacus impersonation* - Ahhh, but I digress...

From my vantage point, I got to evaluate the good and the bad, and here's my opinion and that's all it is. I'm not a pro, and I'm definitely not the best player at the table (EVER), but I watch alot of poker, mostly at our game. There isn't a single player at our game that I don't think belongs there. Every one has their place. I don't agree with the way some players play, but that doesn't make it wrong. Maybe all the poker books say that when someone takes a certain action, you should raise, fold, or fall on the ground kicking and screaming, but that doesn't mean everyone should play by the book. Everyone has their style, so play the player, not the cards. We've got players who are willing to take a risk to chase cards to the river. Players that will play any two cards, and raise with them. Players that will throw $20 at a pot without even looking at their cards. And yes, players that will fold pocket queens to a $4 raise.

I don't see anything wrong with any of that stuff. It's just their style of play - right or wrong. They shouldn't have to change their game, or learn to play "the right way". They might win alot of money that night, or lose $200 in 30 minutes. Overall the smart player will always come out on top. So just relax, keep coming to the game, and only bring with you what you are willing to lose. If your not having fun, you're missing the point.

Until next time, I'll be here shuffling...

~J~

No comments:

Post a Comment