Thursday, May 21, 2009

Respect The Donk, No Matter What Color Chips He Has

There is a point to this title, you just have to look deeply. Over my years of playing poker I have played a lot of differant stakes. I've played .10/.20, all the way up to $5/$10 cash games. I've played in $500 buyin tourneys down to $5 buyin tourneys. When playing these differant levels of investment I've tried to play good cards and not let the money affect my play. However, I find myself laying down the nut low to a $250 bet thinking I'm getting three quartered. (bad play), or calling every bet at a .25/.50 cash game because it's only 50 cents. This shouldn't be the case in either level. I should respect the game of poker, and not the money. If I'm playing .25/.50 or $5/$10 I should play the style of game I have consistently won with. I have to give Chris Ferguson props he can start out with $1 in an account and play his same style and turn that $1 into $10k in one year. How?? Well he respects his skill and doesn't let the money affect his play.
Small or big stakes the game itself doesn't change. Here comes the explanation of the title. I have found that it is very common for a losing player to blame his or her loss on the stakes they were playing. For example, I play in a .25/.50 cash game from time to time. I have lost a total of $300 at that game this year and I've only played there 4 times. Everytime I left the game I always thought "I just can't play those low stakes." I realized just recently that I'm not respecting the game or my skills. I can consistently win if I'm playing consistent to my playing style and knowledge. I also have decided to not let another player needle me about the stakes I play. If I play .25/.50 cash games and have a profit everytime I play then I'm happy with my play. I do not want to become a stake snob. I need to respect the game itself and look at it as the task at hand. The task is to have more money then I started with. I know a lot of you look at playing
cards as just recreation and you play just to have fun. Well, I do too! I have fun when I win. It's not much fun if I lose everytime I play. If im losing all the time it's probably not because I have white $1 chips in front of me instead of black $100 chips. It's probably because I suck!! And if your playing against players who suck at cards, then get ready for the suckouts. Keep playing your winning style no matter who the players or how big the big blind is. Respect the donks that's where your money will come from.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

No comments:

Post a Comment