Thursday, February 26, 2009

Player Of The Week

I had a hard time picking this weeks player. I decided to highlight a player that hasn't been to the game in a while. The reason I decided to make him player of the week is because he won one of the biggest pots he could ever win on February 14th. Blake Riggs raked in a good looking baby boy named Tommy Blake. Blake has played many times with us and has had his share of good and bad days at the Pettigrew Poker Casa. I'm sure his poker sessions will be a little limited for awhile. We all know babies take time and money. These two things are imperitive to a poker player, so it was great to play with you Blake. Just kidding buddy. Congrats are in order and hope to see you at the table again soon.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Thursday, February 19, 2009

Player Of The Week

I have decided to try and post a player of the week column. We will see if I can keep it going. My first player to be singled out is my good friend, Mike Neil. Mike is a great friend I met through the CSOP. I have seen his game grow by leaps and bounds over the course of about 3 years. He has really grasped the game in both cash games and tournement play. He runs a great poker game as well with the CSOP going into it's 2nd season. More importantly then anything else he's a very good person. His character is pure and simple. He is a godly man who understands he's nothing without Christ in his life. He is a great father and a devoted husband. Unlike a lot of players Mike keeps poker in it's correct spot on the priority list. I can honestly say that Mike is a true friend, even though he jipped me out of the point lead in last years CSOP. I love playing the game with you Mike. Make sure you keep the game up, because at your age it's going to start getting
tough keeping other things up. I love ya man.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Monday, February 16, 2009

Gracias!!

I just wanted to thank everbody who came out to my birthday game. It turned out to be a great game and a good time. I was able to spend time with some old friends and get to know new ones. We had several great moments that I will remember forever. I really appreciated the awesome card covers that were custom made for me. I wanted to thank my pop for throwing the shindig. I also wanted to thank you for not punching anyone or anything. Congratulations are in order for being up a $1, you proved the fact that every dog plays with his bone, ooops I mean finds a bone sometimes. All joking aside sir, you are my best friend and I want to thank you for being there for your boys. Everyday I'm thankful for another breath, I am truly blessed to have friends and family like all of you. Thanks again for everything.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Saturday, February 7, 2009

From the dealers seat.

Jake stole my topic in his blog at 4:30 a.m., so I this should be quick. I've been gone for a few weeks, and this was my first week back. Gotta say I missed the game, especially from my usual seat behind the deck. Good turnout, new faces, old faces we haven't seen, but a few people that weren't there, that were missed. No Scott, Mosely, or Abacus and it was noticeable. Last night was marked by some gutsy moves, some ridiculous betting, and some stunning folds (that none of you ever saw). Most notably, Matt laying down pocket queens with only a few dollars in the pre-flop raise. I know he was playing tight and low on chips, but that pot would have been a no-contest all in from me. *doing my Abacus impersonation* - Ahhh, but I digress...

From my vantage point, I got to evaluate the good and the bad, and here's my opinion and that's all it is. I'm not a pro, and I'm definitely not the best player at the table (EVER), but I watch alot of poker, mostly at our game. There isn't a single player at our game that I don't think belongs there. Every one has their place. I don't agree with the way some players play, but that doesn't make it wrong. Maybe all the poker books say that when someone takes a certain action, you should raise, fold, or fall on the ground kicking and screaming, but that doesn't mean everyone should play by the book. Everyone has their style, so play the player, not the cards. We've got players who are willing to take a risk to chase cards to the river. Players that will play any two cards, and raise with them. Players that will throw $20 at a pot without even looking at their cards. And yes, players that will fold pocket queens to a $4 raise.

I don't see anything wrong with any of that stuff. It's just their style of play - right or wrong. They shouldn't have to change their game, or learn to play "the right way". They might win alot of money that night, or lose $200 in 30 minutes. Overall the smart player will always come out on top. So just relax, keep coming to the game, and only bring with you what you are willing to lose. If your not having fun, you're missing the point.

Until next time, I'll be here shuffling...

~J~

Blind Betting At 2:15AM.

I'm writing this at 4:30 in the morning while it's fresh in my mind. Tonight was a good game. It usually is when I'm up. I wanted to discuss the plays that brought our game to a close. My good buddy Mark was having some fun and betting $15-$20 in the dark pre-flop. This worked out for him and made him even. This type of play is not embraced by many as poker playing. I am one of those people who thinks this is way is not poker. In Marks defense this play was a desperate move to either get busted or get even. I myself become looser when I'm stuck. This brings me to the point of this post. I wanted to tell people that calling a big pre-flop bet when someone is In the dark is easy. I play the same hands I would play if the bet was $4. Anybody that gets aggravated with a big bet should probably be out of the pot anyway. I'm not going to say that after awhile blind bets get frustrating. I'm just saying there are several players that gamble just as reckless. I
have seen people call a $4 raise with crap. This is no differant then someone betting in the blind. Your still betting on getting lucky rather then playing well. Another thing to understand is if your up and the game is almost over don't call the big blind bets!! Don't get greedy. I gave away $3.50 in blinds when those big bets were coming out. I laid down a few big hands because I'm not getting mixed up in hands that could bust me if I'm only loosing $1. Last point and I'm done. When someone gets beat in a hand and you are rooting for them to loose, keep your joy of them losing to yourself. If your ever in a place where your gunning for someone to go broke, don't be surprised if you end up busted before they are. Vendettas don't work I promise.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Tuesday, February 3, 2009

Before I play again

With all the trash talking and comments made last week, on top of my complete bad luck and PLAY! I feel that I was short with some people… I have come to the relation that some thing's can't be helped…. I am going to try and keep that in mind every time I play from now on, because for some reason I have started becoming a " Brat" player. 

It's weird but I feel that I have become a much better player because of the players around me.

However, I must start understanding that some people make bets, call bets, and raise, strictly on a feeling in they're stomach.

"I HATE THAT"!!

But that is what makes this game great..

So next time that Dave L., Donks me at the river!, or Scott, Calls my Pre-flop Raise with His Non-Connecting Clubs and later calls my all-in with a draw. I am simple going to say "good hand" and try and move on..

This game is full of ups and downs, and I must stop and think about things before I say them and do them…

Cant Wait to see which way this roller coaster goes this Friday and Saturday…

See you all there.

T. Morgan

C.S.O.P. Champ 2008

 

Brake Or Break??

You know out of all the topics on this site so far have been some real good smack talking and comical. I love every bit of it. I'm gonna break that streak and get back to poker. I was talking to another player about a bad run of cards he's been having. This player plays more poker in one week then some play in a month. Albeit his bankroll is a lot higher then most of ours and his schedule allows for such a lifestyle, he's still losing. This brings me to where my little tid bit of advice comes in. When the cards seem to be running bad for a session or two it's no biggy. This is just part of playing poker. When you lose several sessions in a row, it's time to apply the brakes a bit. When your losing every session you play and have invested almost your entire bankroll it's time to apply the parking brake and get out of the car before you crash. This brings me back to bankroll management. Many of our players do not have seperate money to play poker on. Most
players just run by the ATM get enough to play in for that night and play. This way is STUPID!! You should always no exactly how much you have in every game. You should always have an emergency amount. This is where you have depleated your bankroll to a place where playing your regular game would put your whole bankroll at stake. Example my emergency amount is $300. If my bankroll gets to this amount I am very choosy on the games I play and if I play at all. A few players were surprised to find out I kept tabs on most players winnings and losses for 2008. Some players had no idea about losses they had accrued. This is because they did not keep track of what the vested in there play. This is dangerous. If all seems to be going crappy it's time to take a break. A timeout if you will. Time to rest your mind, stop second guessing the past, recover some bankroll through other means, and refocus. There is two key things to dwell on when on a break. #1 you
need to evaluate your past play. If you have been losing a lot then it's probably not just how the cards flop. Serial losses is a huge signal that it's time to evaluate ones personal strategy to the game. Putting it bluntly if your losing everytime then your style might just suck! As Chris Ferguson says if you can't spot the sucker at the table it's probably you. #2 take some time to refocus on the fun of poker. I am guilty of getting wrapped up in the check raises, the value bets, slow playing, pot odds, implied odds, splash pots, on suit or off suit, etc. Just like everybody else I sometimes need to just sit back and realize I love this game because it's fun. I realize that I'm not a pro player or as wise as my father, but I've been bruised and battered and learned how to recover. This advice only comes from personal expireiences. I have had to take 2 breaks in my time of playing and each time my evaluations have made me a better player. Also know
this you will need a break at some time. When that time comes are you good enough to take that break??

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake
Jakedp1980@yahoo.com

www.36kilos.blogspot.com