Thursday, January 29, 2009

Setting the story straight

First off I am the best there is ! And second I made the bet for 50 dollars. Not Terry. He was so scared to shake on it that his palms were so sweaty and his hand was shaking before I could grab it. So that's were that stands.

Now for the badger alert. The rumors are true my nickname was the badger, that was because everytime I would get sucked out on I would litterally foam at the mouth I be so pissed !! But those days are long gone. I have harnessed my chi and am able to hold in my rage from stupid play. But get there's always a one in every bunch and in ours well there's more than one. Lol. !!

so please comment on who you think will place higher if not win the C. S. O. P. 2009.
Between Terry and I .

Thanks
Scott c s o p 2009

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

"A SIDE BET, AND A RABIES WARNING TO ALL"

With the amount of shit talked by Scott last Friday I was ready with shovel in hand when I arrived at the house. After listening to Scott tell everyone that basically, he was the BEST poker player EVER. I decided to throw a bet on the table, seeing that I'm the defending C.S.O.P. champ I bet Scott $50.00 that I would have more points than him at the end of the year. Not that I think that I am better than him or he is better than me. Its just something to help both of us with our game, I truly hope that he does well, I just hope that I have 1 more point than him when it is all said and done..
 
JUST A WARNING TO ALL....
Several months ago I was told  by a friend of Scotts that they call him Badger. When I asked why? I was told that he acts like one when he gets bet.... So if you plan on playing Friday night or at the Monthly Tourney, get your Rabies Shot just incase you play against the BEST and BET HIM".....
 
Can't wait to get back to the Tables, see all of you there.....
 
2008 C.S.O.P. Champ
T. Morgan
 

Saturday, January 24, 2009

$1,000 Owed For Bad Language

Last night turned out to be the biggest game of the year so far. We had 14 people all together. I guess when you announce your getting planet smoothie food they come in droves. The parties were going on in all parts of the house. We had the 12 handed hard to breathe cause it was so crowded, and the hot fudge sundae fest in the kitchen. By the way I appreciate everyone keeping the cussing down to a minimum. After putting a .50 cent penalty on each cuss word I think it was worse. LOL I think there is a couple of guys who should include their cuss penalties in there money losses. Abacus that means you were actually down for the night. I think the funniest event of the night was the 4 Mexican sweat hands to end the night. Josh ended up winning 3 out of 4 hands. He was into the poker game for $200 and ended up only being down $80 thanks to his magnificent skill at the game of no skill. The game turned out great wish dad could have been there. I'll see you
guys next week.

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Return of the ATM

Ok so I have been beat down for the last 3 weeks or so, I had a good run going until I came back from Vegas and some how became the biggest DONK at the table. So the gloves are off, I will win this Friday, and when I win its not little its usually 200+ , So Dave I hope you bring ALL my money back cause its coming home baby, no more donk moves for me, So will you see the more aggressive badger, or just a laid back sly ninja leaving you saying where the heck did all my money go .. CHA CHING !!
 
So this is a call out to all that play with us bring cash and lots of it cause it's going in my little pink piggy bank baby, here are some examples how this Friday is going to go down.
 
Terry raises big pre-flop I reraise with 9-4 clubs., Somebody raises to that queer $3.50 and I have paint you get raised,  Dave calls $ 25.00 reraise I FOLD !!!  (respect).. LOL, and the piece de resistaunce.. Eric no matter what you play you bet pre-flop bet the flop , and you check the turn I am going to reraise you with absolutely nothing !!
 
Love you guys but the gauntlet has been thrown down I will leave with cash this Friday you guys just need to decide who's its going to be ?!!!
 
Later Taters
 
Scott S.  C.S.O.P. 2009 winner fo shizzle

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

From the Dealer's Seat

Well, as you all know I've missed three weeks in a row and will miss this week as well as I take my son to Corpus Christi to spend the night on the USS Lexington. I can't wait to get back in my seat and start throwing things at you guys again. I miss the game in a way that those who never deal may not understand. There's alot to be said about playing the game, but dealing has definitely changed my perspective. I should be back soon, but until then let me leave you with this video of a possible replacement, so that you won't complain when I come back.
 
~J~
 
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/WCxCXwL7g1c&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en&feature=player_embedded&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/WCxCXwL7g1c&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

~J~ Pettigrew
PBNJ Worship Ministries
www.myspace.com/pbnjworship



Saturday, January 17, 2009

Dave L. Requires Medical Attention.

I think Dave is going to need medical attention. He must have woke up with some sort of injury. The reason why is because Dave didn't just get hit with the deck he got smashed, hit, elbowed, smacked, kneed, and I think he even got felt up by the the deck. Dave was the big winner profiting over $200. Dave was destined to win last night. For a while there he couldn't lose a single pot. Ace kings got busted by jack4, straights got busted by runner runners, and raising pre flop became useless. I don't think I have ever seen such a run of cards in all my poker playing. However, I do think Dave was due for a big cash. There were many players last night that could not make anything connect. I was one of those donks. After the game I had a brief conversation with Dave, John, and Eric. We discussed our play for the evening and poker theory and strategy. Each of us were on the same page about most everything. But like you can expect there were comments made about strategy that I didn't agree with. This is why I love this game. Everyone has their own game they play. I have found a way to play that is profitable for me 80% of the time. My way may be the worst way for the next guy but it works for me. I am by no means the best poker player, but I offer this advice. If your style of play or your knowledge of the game is profitable 25% of the time then you probably need to reevaluate how to change your game. You want your win rate percentege to be as high as it possibly can be. The best feeling for a player is to start the year with a bankroll of $300 and to never have to look back the entire year. I suggested to the 3 guys left last night to register with pokercharts.com this site will help determine if your style of play is a winning style. Congrats to Dave for a great cash last night. I hope whatever injury you might have obtained from the deck heals up quickly.  

Keeping It Skinny,
"Flaco" Jake

www.36kilos.blogspot..com


Wednesday, January 14, 2009

Wisdom of the Ancients

After reading the contributions submitted to J5onsuit I was compelled to make my own contribution. We are such and entertaining and enlighted group but I am not sure most of you could see things the way I do as I am older than most of our players, except Dave L.

I think the metamorphisis you go through as a player is so much like life and we have players at every level of the evolutionary chain.

We have ameba's who are in the infancy stages of forming their game, have no direction, and are just trying to keep from getting their bankroll squashed into microscopic particles.

We have the toddlers who are so thrilled that they actually have a pair in their hand they continue to bet with childlike faith that they will catch their 2 outer to beat all the over cards on the board.

We have pre-teens who can't wait to grow up and finally have the courage call that big bet from the older guys, while drawing to their straight, flush, second pair, or gut shot.

We have the hot shot older teenagers who are full of piss and vineagar and can bench 250, throw a bet at every pot, reraise every bet, and just dare all the puny freshman to even speak to them. Their very stare says, "Get out of my pot."

We have the intellectual college boys who have gained so much knowledge from their educational endeavors that folding, calling, or raising is an equation that has a simple and finite answer.

We have the dedicated family man who is so thilled that his wife actually gave him permission to do something without her that he will bet - without looking at his cards, after seeing his crappy cards, or probably with no cards - and just dare you to try and take his money.

We have the sibling rivalries of the little stack versus the big stack. The little stack knows there is going to be one opportunity when the big stack is not looking or paying attention and he will get to throw that sucker punch that leaves the big stack bewildered and wondering what just happened.

We have the player who has matured, knows where to pick his spots, who he can bluff out of a pot, and who he can reraise to win a pot. Unfortunately he usually makes just the right move at just the wrong time and gets the right call with the wrong board from one of the aforementioned players to loose the biggest pot of the night. Lamenting his loss with the often proved poker principal, "You just can't rehab stupid."

And finally we have the wise old sage. He has been through many endeavors in life and has learned from most of them. He is wise enough to know that he doesn't know everything but puts a lot of effort into trying to make you think he knows just about everything. He trys to educate the young folks on all facets of life and let them learn from his years of experience. He is just young enough that he thinks he can still be cool but just old enough that the only thing about him that is cool is the temperature of his refrigerator. But this wise man has learned from his the many hands he has played. There will be bad beats, there will be suckouts, and if enough pressure from skin and bone is applied to an immovable object there will be pain. But we all know that great piece of wisdom from one of the great philosophers of our time, "Like Mama says. It be's dat way sometimes."

The most interesting fact about life and poker is that at any session or on any day I can dispaly any one or all of the stages of maturity.

GoodChuck

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

Poker Calculations From Abacus

The first time I played this game was August of last year, mere weeks after having returned from my year-long study abroad in Japan. In my earlier years, my family had often traveled to Vegas on vacation, with the children being delegated to the arcade of the MGM or the Gameworks on the strip. After one such vacation, I got my mother to promise me to take me back to Vegas after I turned 21 on my birthday, and having turned 21 while I was in Japan, August became the most practical compromise. I played all the traditional table games: Blackjack, Craps, Roulette...I even wasted $3 on a MegaMillions slot machine, and none of these games were as nearly as exciting as what was to come.

The night before we were to return, I realized that I had yet to play poker while I was there. I have a strong competitive spirit, and I was greatly intrigued by a game where one was playing against the other players, not the house. At around midnight, I meandered over to the Tropicana and sat down at a 1/2 table with the $200 I had won at craps. There were ups, downs, sets, rivered full houses, flush draws, people who tried to push me off hands when I had the nuts, me betting $20 on the river with a K-A-2-3-4 straight and bluffing my opponents off the hand(although I thought I was good!), and I had no idea what I was doing. I finished at 6:00AM with me stuck $200, but of all the time I spent in Vegas I had the most fun and adrenaline-pumping, heart-pounding moments at the poker table, and I fell in love with the game.

Since returning to Fort Worth I've played poker every chance I could, not the least insane and educational of which being Friday nights at Pettigrew Poker. Every time Scott calls my 4x big blind raise with Q-3 offsuit and flops 2 pair, or Jake reads me and folds to my value bet on the river, or Chuck bets me off a hand with 6 high, I realize I have so much more to learn about this game, and so many things I can improve upon. But every dog has his day, and the one time I got Jake to call $15 on the turn with the nuts is plenty incentive to keep on rollin'. I'll catch up someday!

You got to know when to hold 'em, know when to fold 'em!
-Eric

Monday, January 12, 2009

C.S.O.P from Mike N.

I want to thank all the players in the C.S.O.P. for making it a great success. What started out in 2007 as a way for about 10 friends and family members to start learning and playing Texas Hold'em and has grown into more than I would have ever imagined. By the end of 2007 we even had a championship game that a friend, Clay had won. During the 2008 season our little game had grown to many more players with higher goals set for a new points system & a better championship game. Along the way I have been fortunate to meet some really good people. We are lucky to have such a good group of people and that everyone gets along. We are ruthless to one another, but it is all for fun, nothing is to be taken seriously. This is a friendly game amongst friends. Along the way through the 2008 season, I tweaked a few things for the championship game. I found myself in a hard place because, well, because I screwed up. I had about a month to figure my mess out, which  I called for everyone's input. Misery loves company. I took and crammed them into one, well sort of. But it worked, for the most part. Once we figured out the last little hitches, the championship was on. The 2008 championship game was a hit. It had everything you could ever ask for. It had a little bit of drama, tension, a little talking smack, a whole lot of laughing, and a big finish. The winner was T. Morgan, not any kin to the "Captain". He was one of 2 players lucky to be in the championship by a default. At one time he was on the ropes, dazed and confused. Wait, that's how he is anyway. Just kidding. But some how he fought back form the least amount of chips and won the championship. The championship payed all 10 players at the table and besides the most money going to the winner, he also got a championship bracelet. My hat is off to you, my friend Mr Morgan. Thanks for a great season lots of memories.
 

Mike N.

The Life Of An ATM



These guys ae the worse card players I have ever seen, you have the suck outs , the math brains that take FOREVER just to fold and then ask what you have , you have the old man that ask's how in the world did that happen?, and then there is Chuck the WHALE.. LOL
 
JUST KIDDING !!!
 
   Well lets start with I have fun at this game first off I could win $ 300 or drop 500 it does not matter, I love playing this game and love playing these (suckers) I mean these people,they all have there own little tweak to the game and its funny to see it every week. One for sure is Dave always bets the ACES .. and Kings,well OK paint in general..LOL Terry can always  be sucked out on especially on a club flush draw..LOL  All kidding aside this is probably the best ran and even played game I have ever been apart of , I have played games where your sweating to see if your going to get raided or robbed, games you have had to fight someone afterwards because you busted there girlfriend with 7, 2 off suit . I enjoy everyone that plays with us and will always be there as long as its going on.
 
Thanks
 
Scott S.  WSOP 2012  it could happen ?

From The Dealer's Seat

From the Dealer's Seat: Musings from the only one not playing

Since I never get to play, I probably won't have any great bad beat stories, and no stories about how I got quad aces on the river, or sucked out on someone and made them hit a wall. However, I get to participate in EVERY game, from the best seat in the house. I see all the rabbit cards that never came out, I see all the mucked cards that should have been played, I see the great bluffs that people got away with when they bet so well that no one could call. My entries will be about all the stuff that would have come out if only we played on TV!

So I'll shuffle up and deal the first entry:

I've been away from the game for two weeks due to my wife's ill health, so I've missed out an some fun. That said, I'll just start with one of my secret favorites. Of course, it has to do with Flaco Jake, and Good Chuck. It seems that any time that those two get into a hand there will be drama, trash talk, and eventually a bad beat, or suck out. Most of the time the cards are run twice, or some deal is made that they pull back, add, or modify the betting somehow. In this particular hand though, none of this happened. It was early in the game and if I remember right Jake was already up having one back to back hands (or close to it). I'm not one to remember what cards everyone has or what hit the flop, etc. In this case, it wouldn't matter. All I remember is that Jake lead out the betting with a pre-flop raise, and no one called but Chuck. I look over at Jake's hole cards and they're complete RAGS! Something like 8-3 offsuit. The flop comes out and, of
course, completely misses Jake. He's first to act, and he places a continuation bet. Chuck smooth calls with a pocket pair only slightly larger than the cards on the flop (I think he had 10-10). The flop is a high card and Jake bets again! Chuck doesn't buy it and raises. Jake says "You don't wanna do that Dad", and RE-RAISES! Chuck is visibly rattled and lays it down. Jake looks at me, smiles and mucks away the bluff! Very nice!

Until next time...

~J~

CSOP 2008 From Terry

With this being my first of many blogs on this new site, I would like to start with one of the highlights of my poker journey. It was this weekend at a tournament that I was luckily enough to play in. Long story short, this tournament was set up like the W.S.O.P., with a monthly tournament and a final table free role after 12 months for the top ten players. A prize pool of $1000.00 and a Bracelet to the winner made of the winnings. I was able to slide into a 11th place tie with 2 other people after playing in just seven of the twelve tournaments. After along drawn out process I found myself sitting at the Crowley Series of Poker Championship Table.


I started the game with $10,000 in chips; I lost about 2 grand my first hand and had to shift gears. The tournament went on to find myself in a very bad bet hand against my great friend Jake, I had K-K and bet pre-flop. "Enough too show strength." The flop was an ugly mess of cards, with nothing higher than a 9. I said those magic words, "All-in" with a Very quick "call" from Jake. I thought for sure I had him beat, but after he flipped his pocket 9's I had to start licking my wounds.

The tournament went on as I became card dead, the blinds went up and I was finding myself closer and closer to the rail…. The binds went up yet again to 1K-2K, and I was first to act, I looked at my hold cards to find 7-7. I pushed my remaining 3k All-in and had three or four callers, the flop hit me hard with a third seven for a set. I started changing my play and started getting in a grove that helped me move up the chip leader board, where I took over the chip lead.

After playing for about a half an hour heads up I made a deal with the other guy Tom B. We would just split 1st and 2nd place money between the two of us, and play for the bracelet. He agreed and the heads-up battle continued. In the small blind I found a 10-4 off suite, I raised three times the big blind, trying to show intent. The other guy re-raises me, so I was setting their thinking. Tom looks at Jake and said, "I have your hand". Unfortunately for him I know what that hand is, so I called All-in; thinking I could push him off the pot. I also know that it was going to be a race against two live cards and two live cards. He called with J-5. The flop came K,7,10, the Turn was another 10, and the River was the case 10. Giving me Quads!!! I about fell out of my chair, I could not believe that I pulled that out of the bag….

I have never fought my way back for the small stack to chip leader, and than win the tournament. Man, I love this game… There were handshakes all around and talk about the quads. A hug from another great friend and a few people saying other things and the game was over… I ended the night with $250.00, a bracelet that read C.S.O.P 2008 final table Champ, the memories, and the Title of C.S.O.P. Final Table Champion 2008.

T.Morgan


A Blog Is Born

I know no one reads my blog so I decided to start another. This blog is for all the people in my cell phone with poker next to their name. I hope in the near future to have weekly blogs written by many different players. I will of course moderate each writers blog before publishing but I will give plenty of writers privlege of freedom of speech. If you are interested in posting anything to the site please write your blog and email it to me (jakedp1980@yahoo.com) and I will read, approve, then post. I think this is going to be awesome if I can get some players to get creative and write. You can post about anything you desire. Only thing I ask is that you keep the bad beat stories to a 2,000 word maximum (DAD). I'm excited about sharing stories, strategies, and of course needling from player to player. Let's see who will be the first to get their blog posted.

Keeping It Skinny,
FlacoJake

www.36kilos.blogspot.com